Medicare Health Plans

Medicare health plans can be confusing to handle; for people who find themselves needing to sign up and use it for the first time it can be an uphill battle to figure out what’s covered and what isn’t. Though you should be able to find more help by calling a helpline, here’s the most basic breakdown of the Medicare bill.

Who is Eligible for Medicare?

Medicare is a federal health insurance program that’s typically available to people aged 65 and over. However, people who are younger than 65 and present with certain disabilities can be eligible from a much younger age. Someone of any age with End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) is eligible for the program as it required either a kidney transplant or permanent, ongoing dialysis. There are many stages to Medicare, however.

Medicare Part A

Medicare Part A focuses on hospital insurance. This includes inpatient treatments, hospice care, and skilled nursing home care, and sometimes home health services. The important thing to remember is that there are many steps and stages of Medicare, so it’s important to speak to a representative as soon as possible in a medical situation.

Medicare Part B

Part B is devoted to outpatient care, which includes some doctors’ visits, medical supplies, and certain preventative services. Prevention is the best medicine.

Medicare Part C

Medicare Part C is often the most confusing branch of Medicare to deal with. It’s a blend of private insurance companies and the federal plan, offerings ways for you to pay one price for both Part A and Part B. These plans can include Preferred Provider Organizations, fee-for-service plans, and more. Many include things like prescription drug coverage, making them a better deal for aging policyholders.

Medicare Part D

Finally, Medicare Part D is the service typically dedicated to prescription drug coverages. While usually included in a Part C plan it may be available separately